Fix error code ssl_error_no_cypher_overlap

Rate this post

Have you ever encountered an issue whereby you used to connect to a site flawlessly with Firefox; but suddenly got blocked for no apparent reason? Firefox informs you that “Secure Connection Failed” and proceeds to give error code Error Code: ssl_error_no_cypher_overlap. It is quite weird for something that has been working just fine to suddenly stop working; yet no other external or internal changes were made to the system. The above error is a common occurrence in Windows XP computers but has also been experienced in later Windows versions.

ssl_error_no_cypher_overlap

Users of Windows XP Service Pack 2 and Service Pack 3 are encouraged to update their Firefox browsers to Firefox24. It can be downloaded at this repository. For later Windows users, just upgrade to the latest available Firefox version.

Title: Secure Connection Failed

Message: An error occurred during a connection to %website_name%. Cannot communicate securely with peer: no common encryption algorithm(s). (Error code: ssl_error_no_cypher_overlap).

The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because the authenticity of the received data could not be verified.

Please contact the website owners to inform them of this problem.

Fix code ssl_error_no_cypher_overlap error

Now the following steps will assist you in resolving the problem

  • Check to see if SSL3 and TLS1 are enabled. To do this, open Firefox and follow the prompts at Mozilla Support
  • Open a new tab and type about:config in the address bar. If you see any ssl or TLS written in bold, right click on it and select “Reset”. It will revert to its default setting.

If you are not up to all the techie stuff, here is another alternative (Firefox has restricted use of RC4 cipher);

  1. Open a different browser, for example Opera or Google Chrome.
  2. Now click on “Internal Settings”
  3. Take note of the “Enable RC4-Only Cipher Suite Support” checkbox and then ensure that it is disabled.

NOTE: While the above method works well, it is recommended that users do these changes under supervision or advice from a computer expert. Wrongly adjusting these settings presents a security risk for both

Like this post? Please share to your friends: